Eurasian River Basin Portal

«Support to water resources management and strengthening the capacity of water
management organizations in Europe and Central Asia»

A meeting of the Regional Steering Committee of the Smart Waters Project

A meeting of the Regional Steering Committee of the Smart Waters Project 11.12.2017

On December 6, 2017, representatives of the Regional Steering Committee of the Smart Waters Project met in Dushanbe with representatives of USAID, CAREC and national partners from countries of Central Asia and Afghanistan. It was the fourth meeting aimed at discussing achievements, best practices and challenges faced in implementing the Project in the region.

 Thus, BahromGaforzoda, Deputy Director of the Agency for Land Reclamation and Irrigation under the Government of Republic of Tajikistan underlined that Smart Waters Project, by promoting regional cooperation, contributes significantly to building a dialogue and confidence among all countries of Central Asia and Afghanistan.

 While discussing the achievements, the representatives of the participating countries agreed that the project significantly strengthened the regional cooperation in transboundary river basin management and sector specific education. The meeting allowed fostering the dialogue and sharing best practices among key water sector national partners.

 On December 7, 2017, the Regional Steering Committee members, CAREC and USAID representatives visited the Tajik Scientific Research Institute of Hydraulic Engineering and Reclamation in Hisar city to familiarize with their reconstructed laboratory on irrigation techniques. During the tour all institute facilities were presented to attendees with explanation of their functions and purposes. Moreover, Director of the Institute demonstrated to the members of the Steering Committee water saving scheme based on the natural water runoff. 

 Smart Waters Project, implemented by RECCA and funded by USAID is aimed at addressing the knowledge dis-lock in the region in water sector, building working relations among water managers and specialists, and demonstrating the potential of the basin management approach and cooperation with the academia.

 


Back to the list

Евразийский портал
по управлению речными бассейнами

«Поддержка в управлении водными ресурсами и укреплении потенциала
бассейновых водохозяйственных
организаций в Европе и Центральной Азии»

Заседание регионального руководящего комитета по проекту «Вода, образование и сотрудничество»

Заседание регионального руководящего комитета по проекту «Вода, образование и сотрудничество» 11.12.2017

6 декабря 2017 года представители регионального руководящего комитета по проекту «Вода, образование и сотрудничество» встретились в Душанбе с представителями Агентства США по международному развитию (USAID), РЭЦЦА и национальными партнерами из стран Центральной Азии и Афганистана. Это была четвертая  встреча, посвященная обсуждению достигнутых результатов, успешных практик и задач по реализации проекта в регионе.

 Бахром Гафорзода, заместитель директора Агентства мелиорации и ирригации при Правительстве Республики Таджикистан подчеркнул, что проект «Вода, образование и сотрудничество» способствуя региональному сотрудничеству, вносит огромный вклад в построение диалога и доверия между представителями всех стран Центральной Азии и Афганистана.

 При рассмотрении результатов, представители стран- участниц пришли к единому мнению, что проект значительно укрепил региональное сотрудничество в управлении трансграничными водными ресурсами и повысил уровень образования в этой сфере. Данная встреча способствовала укреплению диалога и обмену опытом и успешными практиками среди основных партнеров, работающих в сфере управления водными ресурсами.

7 декабря 2017 члены руководящего комитета, представители РЭЦЦА и USAID посетили Государственное учреждение таджикский научно-исследовательский институт гидротехники и мелиорации (ГУ « ТаджикНИИГиМ) в городе Хиcар, с целью ознакомления c реконструированной лабораторией по изучению техники полива и орошения сельскохозяйственных культур. Более того, Директор института продемонстрировал членам руководящего комитета схему водосбережения, основанную на естественном водостоке. 

Проект «Вода, образование и сотрудничество» реализуется РЭЦЦА при финансировании USAID и ставит своей целью повышение уровня профильных знаний в области водного сектора, построение профессиональных отношений между управленцами данного сектора и специалистами наряду с демонстрацией потенциала бассейнового подхода к управлению водными ресурсами и сотрудничества с научными кругами.


Возврат к списку