Eurasian River Basin Portal

«Support to water resources management and strengthening the capacity of water
management organizations in Europe and Central Asia»

The first meetings of the Smart Waters project on the Tajik side of the Isfana river

The first meetings of the Smart Waters project on the Tajik side of the Isfana river 06.06.2018

On May 19, in the Sughd region of Tajikistan, CAREC held a meeting with local partners of the Isfana River sub-basin. The sub-basin is located within the boundaries of the river basin and allocates for the convenience of management and conducting production activities.

The meetings were held within the Smart Waters project, funded by the United States Agency for International Development (USAID).

CAREC specialists conducted a presentation of the project for representatives of local executive authorities of Jabbor Rasulov and Spitamen district of Sughd region of Tajikistan, for representatives of the Regional Department of Land Reclamation and Irrigation, as well as for the Land Reclamation and Irrigation Departments of Jabbar Rasulov and Spitamen District of Sughd region.

CAREC specialists presented the main achievements of the project in Tajikistan:

·       The project is an official member of the Coordination Council for the implementation of the water sector reform in Tajikistan;
Supports the work of the National Commission on Irrigation and Drainage, the only platform which promotes the dialogue and cooperation of all key participants in the main sector of Tajikistan – economy;

·       Supports the process of developing the "Law on Reclamation of the Republic of Tajikistan";

·       Provided technical equipment to the Agency for Land Reclamation and Irrigation under the Government of the Republic of Tajikistan with high-precision measuring GIS equipment, which significantly strengthened the potential of both the design institute and the design works of hydraulic structures

·       Continues to support the Tajik Research Institute of Hydrotechnics and Melioration (TajikNIIGiM), in strengthening human resources, influenced the restructuring of the institutional structure of the institute and the curriculum. Taking into account that the reform of the water sector of Tajikistan envisages transition from administrative to basin management, TajikNIIGiM has a key role in building the capacity of Tajikistan's water sector employees.   

In addition, CAREC specialists emphasized the existing tasks for the establishment of a small basin council (SBC) in the Isfana river sub-basin, for conducting a series of trainings for SBC members and the development of a basin plan (BP). MBS is an advisory body which is intended for wide public participation in the processes of planning and preparation of proposals, including through consultations, allowing to take into account the interests of all water users and submit draft conclusions for decision-making.

The introductory meetings showed that representatives of local government support the initiatives of the Smart Waters project. Deputy Head of the Regional Department of Land Reclamation and Irrigation Mr Khodzhiev Halim noted the importance of establishing the SBC within the framework of the water sector reform, approved by the decree of the Government of the Republic of Tajikistan.

The reform of the water sector in Tajikistan envisages transition from administrative to basin management of water resources.

During the meetings it was decided that the representatives of the Land Reclamation and Irrigation Department of J. Rasulov and Spitamen districts will review and present the list of interested organizations that will be part of the future CBS and will hold the first joint meeting and water training on basin planning for integrated water resources management in July 2018.





Back to the list

Евразийский портал
по управлению речными бассейнами

«Поддержка в управлении водными ресурсами и укреплении потенциала
бассейновых водохозяйственных
организаций в Европе и Центральной Азии»

Первые встречи проекта «Вода, образование и сотрудничество» на Таджикской стороне реки Исфана

Первые встречи проекта «Вода, образование и сотрудничество» на Таджикской стороне реки Исфана 06.06.2018

19 мая в Согдийской области Таджикистана прошли ознакомительные встречи РЭЦЦА с местными партнёрами суб-бассейна реки Исфана. Суб-бассейн располагается в границах бассейна реки и выделяется для удобства управления и ведения производственной деятельности. Встречи прошли в рамках проекта Smart Waters (Вода, образование и сотрудничество), финансируемого Агентством США по международному развитию (USAID).

Специалисты РЭЦЦА провели презентацию проекта для представителей местных органов исполнительной власти Джаббар-Расуловского и Спитаменского района Согдийской области Таджикистана, с представителями областного Управления мелиорации и ирригации, а также с Управлениями мелиорации и ирригации Джаббар-Расуловского и Спитаменского районов Согдийской области.

На встрече РЭЦЦА представил основные достижения проекта в Таджикистане:

·       Проект является официальным, членом Координационного Совета по реализации реформы водного сектора в Таджикистане;

·       Поддерживает работу Национальной Комиссии по Ирригации и Дренажу, единственную площадку, продвигающую диалог и сотрудничество всех ключевых участников основного сектора экономики Таджикистана;

·       Поддерживает процесс разработки «Закона о мелиорации Республики Таджикистан»;

·       Техническое оснащение Агентства мелиорации и ирригации при Правительстве Республики Таджикистан высокоточным измерительным ГИС оборудованием, значительно усилило потенциал как проектного института, так и проектных работ гидротехнических сооружений;

·       Оказывая поддержку Таджикскому научно-исследовательскому институту Гидротехники и Мелиорации (ТаджикНИИГиМ) в укреплении потенциала преподавательского состава, повлияла на реструктуризацию институциональной структуры института и учебной программы. Принимая во внимание, что реформа водного сектора Таджикистана предусматривает переход с административного на бассейновое управление, ТаджикНИИГиМ отведена ключевая роль в построение потенциала сотрудников водного сектора Таджикистана.

Кроме того, специалисты РЭЦЦА подчеркнули существующие задачи по созданию малого бассейнового совета (МБС) на суб-бассейне реки Исфаны, по проведению серии тренингов для членов МБС и разработки бассейнового плана (БП). МБС – это консультативный орган, который предназначен для широкого участия общественности в процессе планирования и подготовки предложений, в том числе и через консультации, позволяя учитывать интересы всех водопользователей и представлять проекты заключений для принятия решений.

Ознакомительные встречи показали, что представители органов местного управления поддерживают инициативы проекта Smart Waters. Заместитель начальника Областного управления мелиорации и ирригации г-н Ходжиев Халим отметил важность создания МБС в рамках реформы водного сектора, утвержденной постановлением правительства Республики Таджикистан.

Реформа водного сектора Таджикистана предусматривает переход с административного на бассейновое управление водными ресурсами.

В ходе встреч было решено, что представители Управления мелиорации и ирригации Дж. Расуловского и Спитаменского районов рассмотрят и представят список заинтересованных организаций, которые будут входить в состав будущего МБС и проведут первое совместное заседание и водный тренинг по бассейновому планированию для интегрированного управления водными ресурсами в июле 2018 года.





Возврат к списку